Keynote Speakers

Ngaire Hoben

Ngaire HobenNgaire Hoben is currently from the School of Learning, Development and Professional Practice in the Faculty of Education at The University of Auckland.

Hoben spent 18 years as a secondary teacher of English and Media Studies before becoming an initial teacher educator of pre-service teachers aspiring to become English and Media teachers. Her doctoral dissertation investigated how English teachers supervise their pre-service colleagues on practicum.

She is currently the Director of Secondary Teacher Education in the Faculty of Education at The University of Auckland where she teaches courses in Media Studies Education and Mentoring Teachers. She works extensively in secondary schools, supporting novice teachers and training those who mentor them.

Hoben was the convenor of the 2011 IFTE conference, held in Auckland New Zealand and looks forward to sharing literacy initiatives, practices and challenges, with a particular focus on media literacy, within a New Zealand context.

Mary Kalantzis

Mary KalantzisMary Kalantzis is Dean of the College of Education at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. She is a world leader in the "new literacy studies," focusing on multimodality and diversity in contemporary communications.

In recent years she worked to conceptualize the nature of communication and learning in the digital age, focusing on the policy, practice and pedagogical design implications of new technologies in education, from early childhood to higher education.

With Bill Cope, she is co-author or editor of: Multiliteracies: Literacy Learning and the Design of Social Futures, Routledge, 2000; New Learning: Elements of a Science of Education, Cambridge University Press, 2008/2nd edition 2012; Ubiquitous Learning, University of Illinois Press, 2009; and Literacies, Cambridge University Press, 2012.

Her research and development work has focused on developing and trials of a web application supporting teachers in the pedagogical design process (the Learning by Design Project), and Scholar, an online, multimodal student work space, supporting intensive peer-to-peer feedback and multifaceted formative assessment.

Hilary Janks

Hilary JanksHilary Janks is a professor in the School of Education at the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa. Her teaching and research are in the areas of language education in multilingual classrooms, and literacy with a specific focus on critical literacy. Her work is committed to a search for equity and social justice in contexts of poverty.

She has recently published Literacy and Power which develops an interdependent model for teaching critical literacy and a new book, written with colleagues, entitled Doing Critical Literacy, both published by Routledge.

Ernest Morrell

Ernest MorrellErnest Morrell is the inaugural Macy Professor of English Education in the department of Arts and Humanities, and Director of the Institute for Urban and Minority Education (IUME) at Teachers College, Columbia University. He is also the past-president of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) and a Class of 2014 Fellow of the American Educational Research Association (AERA).

Morrell was an award winning high school English teacher and coach in Northern California and he now works with teachers and schools across the country to infuse multicultural literature, popular culture, youth research, and digital media production into standards-based literacy curricula and after school programs.

He is the author of more than 70 articles and book chapters, and six books including New Directions in Teaching English, Linking Literacy and Popular Culture and Critical Media Pedagogy: Teaching for Achievement in City Schools, which was awarded Outstanding Academic Title for 2014 by Choice Magazine of the American Library Association.

Morrell has earned numerous commendations for his university teaching including UCLA’s Department of Education’s Distinguished Teaching Award. He earned his Ph.D. in Language, Literacy and Culture from the University of California at Berkeley where he received the Outstanding Dissertation Award.